In this day and age you need to turn your website into a sales producing machine and start holding your site accountable to getting specific results. Basically your website should become not only a sales tool, but also a part of your sales force.
If you are wondering how this is possible, then your site is probably not even meeting the first requirement of a site - being a sales tool for your sales team.
In order to make your site get better results for the money you have already invested, you need to ask yourself a few questions:
- Is our site getting found?
- If so, how much traffic is it getting? (above 500 visitors a month is a starting point)
- Does our site use SEO techniques?
- Does our site have an on-site blog?
- If it does, are we blogging 1-5 articles a week?
- Are we actively using social media? (minimum of LinkedIn, Facebook & Twitter - a few posts/activity a week)
If you do not know or answered no to any of these questions, then this is something you need to take care before you start your sales goals. If you answered yes to all the above then, congratulations, you are now ready to hold your website accountable to the sales goals you will be setting.
This presentation talks about 6 steps to killing the sales roller coaster. The 6 steps are:
- Define your monthly sales goal
(example: $10,000 per month)
- Define the average size of your sale
(example: $5,000 per average sale)
- Define the number of sales needed to reach your monthly sales goal
(example: divide monthly sales goal by average sales price - $10,000 / $5,000 = 2 sales per month)
- Define your sales conversion rate
(example: 20% sales lead converted into a closed deal. In order to get 2 clients, you need to figure out how many leads your sales team needs. If they have a 20% close ratio then they will need 10 leads per month)
- Define your website visitor to leads ratio
(example: typically we have seen a 1-2% rate for your website traffic to convert into a sales lead by filling out a web contact form. So figure out how to get 10 leads a month from your website)
- Define the monthly website traffic needed generate the business needed to reach your monthly sales goals
(in this example you would need 1,000 website visitors)
Get more details by viewing the whole presentation.